Tuesday, 23rd April 2019


AS and A-levels (Advanced Subsidiary and Advanced Level) are perhaps the most conventional route into a further education qualification following GCSEs and are vital for entry into higher education and get you one step closer to getting your dream job.

What A-Levels are out there for students?

Students can choose from a wide variety of subjects, most of which are focused on academic areas, although AS and A-level courses in applied subjects where emphasis is on vocational, work-related skills training can be found all over.

A-levels can be taken full-time, normally lasting two academic years (one year for AS levels followed by a year to complete A-levels), or part-time.

How does an AS level differ?

Although AS-levels make up approximately half of A-level qualifications, they are qualifications in their own right and a person can choose to leave further education without continuing on through to A-level, however this is quite rare.

There are about 80 subjects to take at AS and A-level. These include subjects taken in years 10 and 11, but students can opt to choose new ones. There is also a range of applied A-levels in about ten subjects, offering a broad introduction to areas like business or tourism.

What do I need before I start?

In order to take A-levels, a pupil must have achieved a minimum of five GCSEs at grade C and above. For some AS and A-level subjects, such as Maths, Sciences and English, a grade B at GCSE will be required.

For more information on AS and A-levels, including the grading levels and examinations, please visit the below link:

Directgov - Education and Learning