Friday, 19th April 2019


Her Majesty’s Armed Forces are managed by the Defence Council of the Ministry of Defence and are made up of three primary components:

  • The Army
  • The Royal Air Force
  • The Royal Navy
  • The Royal Marines

Their main objectives globally are to protect the United Kingdom, protect overseas territories, promote UK international interests and contribute to the international peacekeeping effort.

In total there are approximately 200,000 full-time employed servicemen in the Army, Air Force and Royal Navy and almost 40,000 volunteers in the Territorial Army. This total of just fewer than 240,000 makes the British Armed Forces the second largest number of active troops in the European Union.

All branches of the Armed Forces employ a workforce of doctors, nurses and other medical healthcare experts. Working within this industry means working in a range of different locations. Some doctors/nurses will work in a war zone where equipment and medicine is limited. This line of work within healthcare may be more emotionally challenging, therefore thick skin is an advantage.