Tuesday, 23rd April 2019


The National Health Service (NHS) is the United Kingdom’s publicly-funded healthcare service which provides free healthcare to all residents of the UK. It is the largest employer in the UK, with around 1.5 million staff in part and full-time employment. The NHS strives to offer the best healthcare possible, and employs a diverse and skilled workforce.

The NHS covers all the main areas found within healthcare from general medicine to specialist. Some general areas of work within the NHS include:

  • Accident and Emergency Care
  • Paediatrics
  • Paramedics
  • Surgery
  • GPs
  • Nursing
  • Midwifery
  • Dentistry
  • Mental Health
  • Family Planning and Sexual Health

Working for the NHS offers a rewarding career, giving back to the community and working for a public service organisation. Hospitals and surgeries in the NHS are managed by the many different NHS Trusts across the UK. There are many opportunities for people of all ages and background, at NHS institutions based at many sites across the UK.