Friday, 19th April 2019


The court is a governmental institution that has the authority to adjudicate legal disputes between two or more parties. HM Courts and Tribunals Service was created on 1 April 2011 and is an agency of the Ministry of Justice.

In the UK, the courts system is split into three separate jurisdictions, depending on geographical location:

  • Courts of England and Wales
  • Courts of Northern Ireland
  • Courts of Scotland

The HM Courts and Tribunals Service works in the administration of family, civil and criminal courts.

When a case goes to court, a huge level of preparation will be put into a hearing as it is the place where the skills of a lawyer are put into practice. There are a lot of administrative roles available for employment by courts, other than just solicitors, as a lot of the work is to do with the day to day running of the courts, rather than just working on one particular case.