Tuesday, 25th September 2018


Related Videos

Royal Navy Ships

There are hundreds of different ships in the Royal Navy. Below are the most common and frequently used:-

Frigates and Destroyers

These are normally found east of Suez protecting Britain's maritime trade routes and are considered the core of the front-line fleet. Originally designed to deal with the Soviet submarines, however, after the fall of communism they have shown their versatility by providing assistance all over the world. HMS Argyll is the oldest Type 23 Frigate in the Royal Navy, first built in the 1980's, with a £20 million revamp in 2009; it is now considered one of the best frigates in the fleet.

  • Top Speed - 28 Knots
  • 185 Personnel
  • Beam - 16.1 metres
  • Length - 133 metres
  • Displacement - 4,900 tonnes
  • Range (Nautical) - 7,800 miles
  • Draught - 7.3 metres


Known as one of the UK's most strongest force, their are two types:

  • Attack Submarine

Attack submarines are fast, deep-diving vessels that are designed to find and destroy enemy targets. HMS Astute is one of the most famous attack submarines in the fleet, mainly due to its complex creation which required a million individual components and 5 million lines of software code. Although it had a rocky start during its trials (famously running a ground in 2010) it is now considered one of the finest and most advanced submarines in the fleet.

  • Ballistic Submarines

Often referred to as the Navy's 'bombers', these submarines carry nuclear missiles and one out of the four is always on patrol in the world's oceans. HMS Vengeance is the youngest of the four ballistic submarines and has the ability to last for years underwater as it produces it's own water and oxygen.

Patrol Ships and Minehunters

These are smaller fighting ships that inspect the sea lanes from unexploded mines and enforce fishing laws. They are very versatile ships as can also provide support to other fleets and are often used for University students so they can gain an insight into Navy ships. HMS Atherstone, launched in 1986, is one of the eight mine countermeasure ships in Portsmouth. It has had a long career in the British Navy, spending time in the Gulf, and is currently being updated and is expected to return to sea this year.

Assault Ships

Three Assault ships form the core of the Royal Navy fleet: HMS Ocean, HMS Albion and HMS Bulwark. The aim of the ships is to deliver the 'punch' of the Navy and deliver troops ashore through air and sea.

  • HMS Bulwark is the flagship of the Royal Navy. It can carry 256 troops, vehicles and combat supplies. It has the ability to carry 405 troops - however it would be very uncomfortable.
  • HMS Ocean has six helicopter operating spots on the flight deck and a hanger that can contain a range of aircraft.
  • HMS Albion is equipped with a landing craft, a stern that will flood to allow boats in and out and helicopters. This allows marines to be delivered ashore.